TREASURY—TAXATION

SUBCHAPTER 1. GENERAL PROVISIONS

18:25-1.2  Definitions
The following words and terms when used in this chapter, shall have
the following meanings unless context clearly indicates otherwise][.]:
“Apartment” means a complete housekeeping unit of real
property, either constructed or modified for such use, which has as
part of its permanent physical design, kitchen and bath facilities
located within such unit.

“Luxury tax” means the Retail Sales Tax in Fourth Class Cities,
N.J.S.A. 40:48-8.15[,] et seq. (P.L. 1947, [c.71] ¢. 71).

“Retail sale” or “sale at retail” means and includes:

1. Any sale in the ordinary course of business for consumption of
whiskey, beer, or other alcoholic beverages by the drink in restaurants,
cafes, bars, hotels, and other similar establishments;

2. Any cover charge, minimum charge, entertainment, or other similar
charge made to any patron of any restaurant, cafe, bar, hotel, or other
similar establishment;

3. (No change.)

4. The hiring of any rolling chair, beach chair, or cabana; and

5. The granting or sale of any ticket, license, or permit for admission
to any theatre, moving picture exhibition or show, pier, exhibition, or
place of amusement, except charges for admission to boxing, wrestling,
kick boxing or combative sports events, matches, or exhibitions, which
charges are taxed pursuant to section 20 of P.L. 1985, [c.83] c. 83
(N.J.S.A. 5:2A-20).

“Vendor” or “seller” means any person selling or hiring property or
services to another person upon the receipts from which a tax is
imposed.

18:25-1.3  [Luxury tax forms and instructions enumerated] (Reserved)
[(a) ST-250, Combined Atlantic City luxury tax; State sales tax
monthly return.
(b) ST-250A, Instructions for filing ST-250.]

18:25-1.5 Tax rates

(a) (No change.)

(b) [The] From July 15, 2006 through December 31, 2016, the
combined rate for sales subject to both the Atlantic City luxury tax and
New Jersey sales and use tax is 13 percent (luxury tax at nine percent
and sales and use tax at four percent). From January 1, 2017 through
December 31, 2017, the combined rate for sales subject to both the
Atlantic City luxury tax and New Jersey sales and use tax is 12.875
percent (luxury tax at nine percent and sales and use tax at 3.875
percent). Beginning January 1, 2018, the combined rate for sales
subject to both the Atlantic City luxury tax and New Jersey sales
and use tax is 12.625 percent (luxury tax at nine percent and sales
and use tax at 3.625 percent).

(c) Sales subject only to New Jersey sales and use tax are taxable at [a
rate of seven percent] the applicable rate as set forth in the Sales and
Use Tax Act.

(d) [Sales] From July 15, 2006 through December 31, 2016, sales
of alcoholic beverages by the drink in Atlantic City are taxable at the
combined rate of 10 percent (luxury tax at three percent and sales and
use tax at seven percent). From January 1, 2017 through December
31, 2017, the combined rate is 9.875 percent (luxury tax at three
percent and sales and use tax at 6.875 percent). Beginning January
1, 2018, the combined rate is 9.625 percent (luxury tax at three
percent and sales and use tax at 6.625 percent). Sales of package
goods are subject only to New Jersey sales and use tax at the [rate of
seven percent] applicable rate as set forth in the Sales and Use Tax
Act.

SUBCHAPTER 2. ROOM AND APARTMENT RENTALS

18:25-2.2  Luxury tax on room and apartment rentals
[(a)] The rental of a room or rooms, with or without service, in hotels,
motels, rooming houses, inns, boarding houses, apartments, or private
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homes is subject to luxury tax.

[(b) The rental of apartments is subject to luxury tax. For the purposes
of this subchapter, an apartment is defined to be a complete
housekeeping unit of real property, either constructed or modified for
such use, which has as part of its permanent physical design, kitchen and
bath facilities located within such unit.]

18:25-2.4 Exemption from luxury tax on room and apartment rentals

(a) The following room and apartment rentals are exempt from luxury
tax.

1. The rental of a room or rooms by a person who resides [therein] in
it as a permanent resident of Atlantic City. A permanent resident is any
person who:

i.-ii. (No change.)

2. The rental of a room or rooms or an apartment by any person
where the rent is paid directly by an agency of New Jersey State, county,
or municipal government, or by any agency of the United States of
America. Where the rent is not paid directly by the governmental
agency, it is subject to the luxury tax.

i. For example: A State government employee is in Atlantic City on
government business. [He] The employee pays for the occupancy of a
room in a motel[,] and the expense [to] will be reimbursed by an agency
of State government. The rental is subject to luxury tax.

3. The room rents received by [a church or bona fide charitable
association not conducted for profit] an exempt organization. This
exemption is limited to rentals [which] that are directly related to the
purpose for which the [church or association] exempt organization was
organized. (See N.J.A.C. 18:24-9.1)

4. The isolated rental of a room, apartment, or single family dwelling
by a person not engaged in a course of repeated and successive similar
transactions [of like character].

5. That portion of a room rental attributable to the provision of food
service to the occupant or boarder[; for example, American Plan].

6. (No change.)

(b) Every rental of a room or rooms [and] or apartment([s] is subject
to luxury tax unless exempt from tax as provided in (a) above. There is
no exemption from luxury tax by reason of an exemption from sales tax
in this State.

[1.] For example[: An], an organization [holding a valid] that has
applied for and received a New Jersey Exempt Organization
Certificate (Form ST-5) arranges for the occupancy of rooms in a hotel
for members attending a convention. The rental charge is invoiced to and
directly paid by the organization. The room rentals are subject to luxury
tax [inasmuch as said tax] because the law does not provide an
exemption for such organizations. However, the room rentals are not
subject to [the State] sales tax provided the vendor is given a copy of the
organization’s [Exempt Organization Certificate (JForm ST-5[) by the
organization] and payment is made from the organization’s funds.
(See N.JLA.C. 18:24-9.12)[.]

(a)
DIVISION OF TAXATION

Spill Compensation and Control Tax

Proposed Readoption with Amendments: N.J.A.C.
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Authorized By: John J. Ficara, Acting Director, Division of
Taxation.

Authority: N.J.S.A. 58:10-23.11t.

Calendar Reference: See Summary below for explanation of
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PO Box 269
Trenton, NJ 08695-0269
E-mail: Tax.RuleMakingComments@treas.nj.gov.

The agency proposal follows:

Summary

Pursuant to Executive Order No. 66 (1978) and N.J.S.A. 52:14B-5.1,
N.J.A.C. 18:37 was scheduled to expire on May 13, 2018. As the
Division of Taxation (Division) filed this notice of proposal with the
Office of Administrative Law prior to that date, the expiration date of
the chapter is extended 180 days to November 9, 2018, pursuant to
N.J.S.A. 52:14B-5.1.¢(2). The Division has reviewed these rules and has
determined them to be necessary, reasonable, and proper for the purpose
for which they were originally promulgated. The Division proposes to
readopt all subchapters as there were no recent changes to the Spill
Compensation and Control Act (NJ.S.A. 58:10-23.11 et seq.). Only
minor, non-substantive amendments are being proposed.

The rules proposed for readoption with amendments are intended to
provide guidance to taxpayers under the provisions imposing the spill
compensation and control tax as set out in the Spill Compensation and
Control Act.

The Spill Compensation and Control Act became effective April 1,
1977. Tax liability is incurred when hazardous substances are transferred
to a major facility or vessel within the jurisdiction of the State of New
Jersey from another major facility located either within or outside of
New Jersey. The tax burden falls upon the operator or owner of the
receiving major facility or vessel, irrespective of the ownership of the
hazardous substance transferred, except for transfers to certain major
facilities designated as public storage terminals. Spill compensation and
control tax liability is limited to the first transfer of a hazardous
substance into New Jersey. A subsequent transfer of a hazardous
substance or any product derived from it is exempt from tax liability
when the transferee receives a valid secondary transfer certificate from
the transferor.

P.L. 2004, c. 50 provided for an increase in the applicable tax rates
for the transfers of petroleum products, non-petroleum products,
hazardous substances containing precious metals, elemental
phosphorous, and elemental antimony and antimony trioxide for fire
retardants. However, no change to the tax rates has been enacted since
the last readoption of this chapter.

The rules proposed for readoption with amendments describe the tax
imposed on the transfer of hazardous substances and the rates.
Throughout the chapter, amendments are proposed to update
terminology, correct grammar and punctuation, and remove dates that
have passed.

Specifically, the rules proposed for readoption and the proposed
amendments follows:

Subchapter 1 provides the imposition of the tax. Subchapter 1 is
proposed for readoption with amendments to delete the term “his” in
N.J.A.C. 18:37-1.1(e) and replace it with the gender neutral term “its.”

Subchapter 2 contains the tax rates. Subchapter 2 is proposed for
readoption with amendments to remove old tax rate information that
refers to out-of-date tax periods.

As the Division has provided a 60-day comment period on this notice
of proposal, this notice is excepted from the rulemaking calendar
requirements pursuant to N.J.A.C. 1:30-3.3(a)5.

Social Impact

The rules proposed for readoption with amendments provide guidance
to taxpayers on how to comply with spill compensation and control tax
obligations imposed by the Spill Compensation and Control Act
(NJ.S.A. 58:10-23.11 et seq.), which was enacted to protect the citizens
of New Jersey from the adverse effects of environmental mishaps that
can result from spills of petroleum products or other hazardous
substances in this State.

Economic Impact
The rules proposed for readoption with amendments are expected to
have no economic impact on the class of taxpayers that are subject to the
spill compensation and control tax since the last rule readoption in 2011
because the rules primarily state and implement basic requirements of
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the statutory provisions. Accordingly, the rules proposed for readoption
with amendments are anticipated to have minimal, if any, impact.

Federal Standards Statement
A Federal standards analysis is not required because the rules
proposed for readoption with amendments are not subject to any Federal
requirements or standards. The rules proposed for readoption with
amendments concern a State statute imposing a spill compensation and
control tax and are independent and separate from Federal standards or
requirements.

Jobs Impact
The rules proposed for readoption with amendments will not result in
the creation or loss of jobs in the State. The rules proposed for
readoption with amendments continue previously established policies for
administration of the spill compensation and control tax.

Agriculture Industry Impact
The rules proposed for readoption with amendments will not have an
impact on the agriculture industry.

Regulatory Flexibility Statement

The rules proposed for readoption with amendments impose
reporting, recordkeeping, and compliance requirements on taxpayers as
required by N.J.S.A. 58:10-23.11 et seq. The compliance requirements
must apply uniformly. Any action to exempt taxpayers that may be small
businesses would not be in compliance with applicable statutes.
Therefore, no differential requirements based on business sizes have
been established. However, the Spill Compensation and Control Act
itself imposes the tax on owners or operators of “major facilities,” which
includes petrochemical facilities in this State that store at least 200,000
gallons of hazardous substances including petroleum or petroleum
products, or 20,000 gallons of other hazardous substances and does not
impose the tax on businesses with lower product thresholds (such as gas
stations).

The rules proposed for readoption with amendments will have no
impact on capital costs. In addition, the rules would not require
professional services since the spill compensation and control tax has
been in place in prior years. However, there may be some additional
costs or accountants’ fees related to the need to monitor certain accounts
and/or file returns with the Division. The reporting requirements for
major facilities and owners of hazardous substances involve monthly
submissions of a Spill Compensation and Control Tax return (Form
SCC-5). Public storage terminals are also required to file informational
tax returns (Form SCC-6). There are also recordkeeping requirements
that involve retaining the records and supporting documents used to
complete Forms SCC-5 and SCC-6. These requirements are necessary to
ensure the proper tax has been paid. The statute has a cap on annual
payments for certain major facilities that were subject to the spill
compensation and control tax in 1986 and made payments in 1986
accordingly.

Housing Affordability Impact Analysis

The rules proposed for readoption with amendments will not result in
a change in the average costs associated with housing or on the
affordability of housing. The rules proposed for readoption with
amendments have no impact on any aspect of housing, including its
affordability, because the rules proposed for readoption with
amendments concern reporting and recordkeeping requirements for
those taxpayers who are obligated to pay the spill compensation and
control tax as required under N.J.S.A. 58:10-23.11 et seq.

Smart Growth Development Impact Analysis
The rules proposed for readoption with amendments will not result in
a change in housing production within Planning Areas 1 or 2, or within
designated centers, under the State Development and Redevelopment
Plan. The rules proposed for readoption with amendments only address
the obligation of certain businesses to pay the spill compensation and
control tax.

Full text of the rules proposed for readoption may be found in the
New Jersey Administrative Code at N.J.A.C. 18:37.
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Full text of the proposed amendments follows (additions indicated in
boldface thus; deletions indicated in brackets [thus]):

SUBCHAPTER 1.

18:37-1.1 Tax imposed on transfer of hazardous substances

(a) The [Spill Compensation] spill compensation and [Control Tax]
control tax is imposed on the transfer of hazardous substances within
the jurisdiction (lands and waters) of New Jersey.

(b) (No change.)

(c) The transferee is an owner or operator of a major facility, except
as provided in (e) below, which receives a transfer of a hazardous
substance. For the purpose of this chapter, a major facility, as defined in
the Spill Compensation and Control Act, N.J.S.A. 58:10-23.11[,] et seq.,
as amended by P.L. 1986, [c.143] c. 143, is a facility that has a
combined [above ground] above-ground or buried storage capacity of:

1.-2. (No change.)

(d) A transferor is liable for the tax[, on and after April 1, 1980,] only
when a hazardous substance other than petroleum, which has not been
previously taxed, is transferred from a major [in-state] in-State facility
to a facility [which] that is not a major facility, including vessels.

(e) When a hazardous substance is transferred to a major facility
[which] that qualifies as a public storage terminal [on or after January
18, 1979], the owner of the hazardous substance or [his] its authorized
agent is a transferee.

1. A “public storage terminal” means a public or privately owned
major facility [which] that is engaged in the business of providing
storage space to the general public and is substantially devoted to the
storage of substances owned by others. “Substantially devoted” means at
least 95 percent of the hazardous substances stored at each facility at any
one time must be owned by interests other than the terminal itself or its
individual owners. For purposes of the above calculation there is no need
for the facility to include, as hazardous substances owned by such
facility, the following:

i. Boiler fuel to be consumed by [such] the facility in the creation of
heat, hot water, and steam for use on the premises; or

ii. (No change.)

2. The owner of a hazardous substance is any person who holds title
to [such] that substance upon delivery at the public storage terminal.

(f) [Effective on and after April 1, 1980, for] For purposes of (a)
above, in the case of the transfer of hazardous substances other than
petroleum or petroleum products [which] that are or contain any
precious metals to be recycled, refined, or rerefined, [such] precious
metals shall mean gold, silver, osmium, platinum, palladium, iridium,
rhodium, ruthenium, and copper.

IMPOSITION OF TAX

SUBCHAPTER 2. TAX RATES

18:37-2.1 Tax rates on the transfer of petroleum or petroleum products

(a) The tax on transfers of petroleum or petroleum products shall be at
the [following] rate[s:] of

[1. On transfers occurring prior to February 1, 1987, $0.01 per barrel.

2. On transfers occurring on or after February 1, 1987 but prior to
July 21, 1990, $0.0125 per barrel.

3.On transfers occurring on or after July 21, 1990 but prior to
January 1, 2004, $0.0150 per barrel.

4. On transfers occurring on or after January 1, 2004,] $0.023 per
barrel, except as provided in (b) below.

(b) In the event of a major discharge or series of discharges of
petroleum or petroleum products resulting in claims against the Spill
Compensation Fund [which] that exceeded the existing balance of the
fund, a tax rate of $0.04 per barrel on transfers of petroleum or
petroleum products shall be levied until the revenue produced by such
increased rate equals 150 percent of the total dollar amount of all
pending reasonable claims resulting from the discharge of petroleum or
petroleum products. The tax rate [as herein set forth] may be less than
$0.04 per barrel transferred if, as provided by the Spill Compensation
and Control Law, the revenue produced by such lower rate shall be
sufficient to pay outstanding claims against the fund within one year of
such levy.

(CITE 50 N.J.R. 1430)

PROPOSALS

18:37-2.2  Tax rates on the transfer of hazardous substances other than
petroleum or petroleum products

(a) The tax on transfers of hazardous substances other than petroleum
or petroleum products shall be at the rate of[:

1. On transfers occurring prior to April 1, 1980, $0.01 per barrel; or

2. On transfers occurring on and after April 1, 1980 but prior to
November 1, 1980, the greater of $0.01 per barrel or 0.4 percent of the
fair market value of the hazardous substance provided, however, that
with respect to transfers of hazardous substances other than petroleum or
petroleum products which are or contain any precious metals to be
recycled, refined, or rerefined in this State, or which are transferred into
this State subsequent to being recycled, refined or rerefined, the tax shall
be $0.01 per barrel of the hazardous substance; or

3. On transfers occurring on or after November 1, 1980, but prior to
August 1, 1982, the greater of $0.04 per barrel or 0.8 percent of the fair
market value of the hazardous substance, provided, however, that with
respect to transfers of hazardous substances other than petroleum or
petroleum products which are or contain any precious metals to be
recycled, refined, or rerefined in this State, or which are transferred into
this State subsequent to being recycled, refined, or rerefined, the tax
shall be $0.04 per barrel of the hazardous substance. The tax rates
specified herein were adopted pursuant to the determination of the
Administrator of the Spill Compensation Fund that the condition stated
for a tax increase in (c) below existed as of October 17, 1980; or

4. On transfers occurring on or after August 1, 1982, but prior to June
1, 1985, the greater of $0.01 per barrel or 0.4 percent of the fair market
value of the hazardous substance, provided, however, that with respect
to transfers of hazardous substances other than petroleum or petroleum
products which are or contain any precious metals to be recycled,
refined, or rerefined in this State, or which are transferred into this State
subsequent to being recycled, refined, or rerefined, the tax shall be $0.01
per barrel of the hazardous substance. The tax rates specified herein
were adopted pursuant to the determination of the Administrator of the
Spill Compensation Fund that the condition stated for a tax increase in
(c) below no longer existed as of June 21, 1982; or

5.0n transfers occurring on or after June 1, 1985, but prior to
February 1, 1987, the greater of $0.04 per barrel or 0.8 percent of the fair
market value of the hazardous substance, provided, however, that with
respect to transfers of hazardous substances other than petroleum or
petroleum products which are or contain any precious metals to be
recycled, refined, or rerefined in this State, or which are transferred into
this State subsequent to being recycled, refined, or rerefined, the tax
shall be $0.04 per barrel of the hazardous substance. The tax rates
specified herein were adopted pursuant to the determination of the
Administrator of the Spill Compensation Fund that the condition stated
for a tax increase in (c) below existed as of May 1, 1985; or

6. On transfers occurring on or after February 1, 1987 but prior to
July 21, 1990, the greater of $0.0125 per barrel or 1.0 percent of the fair
market value of the hazardous substance, provided, however, that with
respect to transfers of hazardous substances other than petroleum or
petroleum products which are or contain any precious metals to be
recycled, refined or rerefined in this State, or which are transferred into
this State subsequent to being recycled, refined or rerefined, the tax shall
be $0.0125 per barrel of the hazardous substance.

7. On transfers occurring on or after July 21, 1990, the greater of
$0.0150 per barrel or 1.0 percent of the fair market value of the
hazardous substance plus $0.0025 per barrel, provided, however, that
with respect to transfers of hazardous substances other than petroleum or
petroleum products which are or contain any precious metals to be
recycled, refined or rerefined in this State, or which are transferred into
this State subsequent to being recycled, refined or rerefined, the tax shall
be $0.0150 per barrel of the hazardous substance.

8. On transfers occurring on or after June 27, 1997, the greater of
$0.0150 per barrel or 1.0 percent of the fair market value of the
hazardous substance plus $0.0025 per barrel, provided, however, that
with respect to transfers of hazardous substances other than petroleum or
petroleum products which are or contain elemental phosphorous or any
precious metals to be recycled, refined or rerefined in this State, or
which are transferred into this State subsequent to being recycled,
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refined or rerefined, the tax shall be $0.0150 per barrel of the hazardous
substance.

9. On transfers occurring on or after April 1, 2002, the greater of
$0.0150 per barrel or 1.0 percent of the fair market value of the
hazardous substance plus $0.0025 per barrel; provided however, that
with respect to transfers of hazardous substances other than petroleum or
petroleum products which are or contain elemental phosphorus or which
are qualified elemental antimony or antimony trioxide sold for use in the
manufacture or for the purpose of fire retardants or which are or contain
any precious metals to be recycled, refined or rerefined in this State, or
which are transferred into this State subsequent to being recycled,
refined or rerefined, the tax shall be $0.0150 per barrel of the hazardous
substance.

10. On transfers occurring on or after January 1, 2004,] 1.53 percent
of the fair market value of the product[;], provided, however, that with
respect to transfers of hazardous substances other than petroleum or
petroleum products [which] that are or contain elemental phosphorus or
[which] that are qualified elemental antimony or antimony trioxide sold
for use in the manufacture or for the purpose of fire retardants or [which]
that are or contain any precious metals to be recycled, refined, or
rerefined in this State, or [which] that are transferred into this State
subsequent to being recycled, refined, or rerefined, the tax shall be
$0.023 per barrel of the hazardous substance.
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(b) (No change.)

[(c) In the event of a major discharge or series of discharges of
hazardous substances other than petroleum or petroleum products
resulting in claims against the Spill Compensation Fund which exceed
the existing balance of the fund for taxable periods occurring from April
1980 through January 1987, a tax rate of the greater of $0.04 per barrel
transferred, or 0.8 percent of the fair market value of such hazardous
substance shall be levied until the revenue produced by such increased
rate equals 150 percent of the total dollar amount of all pending
reasonable claims resulting from the discharge of hazardous substances
other than petroleum or petroleum products; provided, however that with
respect to transfers of hazardous substances other than petroleum or
petroleum products which are or contain any precious metals to be
recycled, refined, or rerefined in this State, or which are transferred into
this State subsequent to being recycled, refined, or rerefined, the tax
shall be $0.04 per barrel of the hazardous substances. The tax rate as
herein set forth may be less than $0.04 per barrel transferred or 0.8
percent of the fair market value of such hazardous substance if, as
provided by the Spill Compensation Law, the revenue produced by such
lower rate shall be sufficient to pay outstanding claims against the fund
within one year of such levy. This subsection is inapplicable to tax
periods occurring on and after February 1, 1987.]
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